Friday lunch.

Sometimes I like to enjoy other people’s cooking.

Today, one of my coworkers who is a sushi chef called me over to her station. She hands me two, glass Tupperware containers and says, “for you.”.

Image

The first container was filled with homemade kimchi or as we Americans know it…fermented cabbage. Usually it is cabbage, red chili paste, garlic, daikon, and other secret items that are put in a bowl to rot. Traditionally, all of the ingredients are jammed in a clay pot and buried under ground to ferment. Never seen this done, but many people on this side of the globe make it inside of their home.I am deeply in love with this condiment. Eating it with bulgogi lettuce wraps or just in a bowl is simply delicious. I usually buy a jar of kimchi from the organic section at grocery stores, so when I actually get my hands on true authentic kimchi, I get super excited.

The second container was filled with a Japanese noodle dish. It was glass noodles, beef, shitake mushrooms, peppers, onions, garlic, and a sesame oil sauce. OMG. It was great! My chopsticks and I had a party!

Now I have to find out how I am going to eat all of the kimchi in my fridge. It lasts for a decent amount of time, so I will have fun eating and adding it into my cooking.

-Chef Dom

2 thoughts on “Friday lunch.

Leave a Reply

