I’m back with Elvis!! (Peanut Butter Banana Bread)

Wow!

It has been…554 days since I have made a blog post!

Crazy!!

So much has happened. If you follow me on IG (chefdomli_85), you know what’s been up with me. If not…here is the 4 1 1.

I married my best friend on May 10, 2014, so you all can now call me Chef Lipscomb. Also, I got another promotion at my job (co manager) last year. Moved to Chester, VA with the in laws to save for a house, and I turned the big THREEEE OHHHH last month. It has been a hectic, fun filled 554 days, but I am enjoying it to the fullest.

Now back to this food business. Since I no longer do any chef work for the company I work for, that’s doesn’t mean I have stopped cooking. I am still creating and writing recipes everyday and honing my craft. I have plans for a cookbook in the future. Also, my husband and I have gotten really deep into fitness and nutrition. A lot of my cooking has gone a completely different direction focusing more on organics, vegetarian, and vegan cuisines. We no longer eat beef or pork (1 year and 2 months strong) just chicken, fish, and turkey. At the end of this year I will begin studying for a certification in nutrition fitness coaching to began practicing as a licensed Nutrition/ Wellness Coach. I believe that I have been blessed with knowledge about healthy eating and wellness and there are a lot of people that need help in that area. So in essence, I have a lot of big things in the works!! Exciting!!

I decided to cook some good stuff today (as always) and figured that it was time to revive my blog. Now that the app is more assessable, I will post more through my IPhone being that I am always on the go. 

Today I discovered some bananas in the kitchen that were close to a second passing, so I wanted to utilize them and make bread. For some reason when I think of bananas I always either think of monkeys or Elvis. When I think of Elvis and bananas, peanut butter ends up coming to mind also. That’s it! Peanut butter banana bread! I pulled out brown sugar, coconut oil (great substitute for butter), and cinnamon and got to work. I also found some turbinado sugar in the pantry and threw that on top of the batter before it went into the oven. 

  
Baked it low and slow for an hour and out came the most moist bread ever!! 

  
After it cooled, I ate a slice and so did my husband. He wanted butter on his (of course), but I ate mine plain. The next time I make it j will play around more with the peanut butter due to the flavor not being as prevelant as I wanted. Overall…not too shabby for a quick bread loaf. 

  
I think Elvis would say, “thank you…thank you very much.” 

As always the recipe is below. If you do wish to repost my recipe on a site, Facebook page, IG, or anywhere on social media…please give me credit. Fair is fair. It’s the right thing to do!!  

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

1C brown sugar

4oz Virgin coconut oil (if you want to use butter- 1 stick will do)

2 large eggs

3 ripe bananas

2 tbsp peanut butter (reg-I haven’t played around with all natural or organic yet)

1 tablespoon milk

1tsp cinnamon 

2c AP flour 

1tsp baking powder

1tsp baking soda

1tsp salt

Preheat oven to 325
Cream together sugar and coconut oil until fluffy.

Add in eggs one at a time; beating after each one until fully incorporated.

In a separate bowl mash bananas with a fork. Add in Peanut butter and stir then add in the milk and cinnamon. Add into the sugar/coconut oil mixture.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Fold into the wet ingredients until no flour is showing. 

Spoon batter into a loaf pan that has been lined with parchment (leave a little overhang until after all of the batter is put in then go back and trim) and sprayed with Pam. Spread batter evenly. Sprinkle turbinado sugar on top. 

Bake for 1hr and 10 minutes and stick a toothpick in the center to see if it comes out clean. (I took mine out after an hour and allowed it to rest in the pan for the other 10 minutes. It will depend on your oven No earlier than an hour though.) 

Allow to cool on a cooling rack while still in a pan for 10 minutes then remove from pan and place directly on a cooling rack for another 5.

Chef Dominique H. Lipscomb ’15 

Leave a Reply

